Saffron Walden

A couple of weeks ago I visited Saffron Walden in Essex. I had been briefly before but this was the first time I had had a proper look round. My main objective was to visit The Fry Art Gallery, something I have wanted to do for a while, but I ended up seeing so much more!

Firstly I came across a house that Edward Bawden used to live and work in. It’s an unassuming building down a small lane, but being an admirer of Bawden it was good to see all the same.

After a visit to the church I visited Church Street Gallery and then on to The Fry, which I talk about in the next couple of posts.

Saffron Walden is a lovely town with lots of history and interesting architecture. It has mazes, one being in the formal Bridge End Gardens, and a castle. However, what initially drew me here was the town’s association with some excellent printmakers and artists and I would recommend to anyone with a similar interest to visit Saffron Walden.

Leave a Reply

